Diets for celiac disease shouldn't include gluten in any amount. Gluten is the main cause of celiac disease, and people living with this disease should avoid it completely, because it can trigger an allergic reaction, such as upset stomach, hey fever, asthma or eczema.
People with celiac disease should search for professional advice regarding gluten-free diets. They should be aware of the foods containing hidden gluten (such as additives, stabilizers and preservatives) and read food labels to avoid it. Eating a variety of fruits and vegetables is very important in order to avoid constipation. Make sure you're getting enough nutrients and not losing weight. Support groups can be a good way to stick to gluten-free diet. And breastfeeding may reduce baby's risk of developing celiac disease.
Here is a list of foods to be avoided:
Wheat
Barley
Bulgur and farina (both types of cereal made from wheat)
Graham flour
Rye
Durum, including semolina and kamut
Spelt (a type of wheat)
Wheat germ and starch
Malt and foods containing malt extracts or flavorings
Diets for celiac disease - reading food labels: make sure these foods are labeled as "gluten-free" products:
Breads
Pastas
Cookies, cakes and candies
Sauces, gravies and salad dressings
Soups
Cereals
Crackers
Beer
Oats
Diets for celiac disease don't exclude all grains. Gluten free breads and pastas (and other foods) made of rice, corn, potato, bean, amaranth, quinoa, tapioca, sago, flax, arrowroot, buckwheat flour are safe to eat. It is not sure if people with celiac disease can eat oats or not, so for now they should be avoided unless they are labeled as gluten free. Most dairy products are also safe to eat and drink, so are wine and distilled liquors and spirits. Meats (fresh, unprocessed) and fish don't contain gluten either.
Some medications can also contain gluten, so you should make sure to check with your pharmacist and read the labels on the medications you take.
Here are some suggestions for meals:
Cereal made from hominy, rice, millet, cornmeal, quinoa, or buckwheat
Milk and dairy products (except for frozen and fruit yogurt)
All vegetables (except for breaded vegetables and canned baked beans)
All fruits and fruit juices (avoiding dried fruit)
All meats, fish, eggs (without breading, stabilizers or fillers)
All nuts, peanut butter, soybeans
Diets for celiac disease may also include other products such as: sweets made with allowed ingredients, butter, sugar, jellies and jams, honey, chocolate, soups, teas, coffee etc.
Up to this point there was little hope that the people suffering from Celiac will ever have completely normal lives once again.
The protocol is question is called Norton protocol and you can read more about by going to the [http://health-turtle.com/celiac.html]home page of the protocol.
Gwen Simmons is a health and nutrition consultant and an alternative medical researcher. Born and lived in Ottawa all her life, she developed and interest in the health and wellness sphere at the age of 28 when her mother died of cancer.
She is now a renowned health consultant and nutrition expert, specializing in alternative medicine research. She owns a small practice in Charleswood, Ottawa. Hobbies - yoga.
